Video
0

伴 ~ 黄小虎

如果命运可以定做
如果有另一次选择
我想我还是会把手让你紧握
快乐的陪你去坎坷

就算你有天变落魄
就算你老的不能动
我想我还是会挽着你看日落
你的心疼在泪光中

* 嘴巴上彼此嫌麻烦
眼神中关怀那么满
没说爱却早已认定一辈子的伴

* 在人前从来不浪漫
在心中却总为对方打算
最懂的人最暖的伴

就算我以后变罗嗦
就算我老了有病痛
我想你还是会照顾我到最后
隐藏最弱不眠不休

* Chorus


没有辛酸,没有遗憾
什么是陪伴,什么是心安
你是答案

It’s a song that encapsulates the everyday kinda love of old couples who’ve weathered life’s ups and downs.

The thing about Chinese is that it’s fairly lyrical, even when the writer’s not trying.  The combination of words evoke myriad feelings that English just can’t give.  And I’m fairly sure that my English vocabulary is stronger than my Chinese.  Not sure if there’s a good translation out there but here’s my two cents.  It’s pretty rough, but it’ll do fro now.  I’ve also taken the liberty to add in pronouns and conjunctions by inference.

«伴»
Companion

如果命运可以定做
If fate could be designed
如果有另一次选择
If there were another chance to choose
我想我还是会把手让你紧握
I think I’d still let you hold on tightly to my hand
快乐的陪你去坎坷
And happily toil through the tough times with you

就算你有天变落魄
Even if you became down and out one day
就算你老的不能动
Even if you became too old to move
我想我还是会挽着你看日落
I think I’d still hold you to see the sunset
你的心疼在泪光中
Your hurt is reflected in (my/your?) tears

* 嘴巴上彼此嫌麻烦
We grumble about each other being nuisances
眼神中关怀那么满
Still the eyes are full of concern
没说爱却早已认定1一辈子的伴
Love is not spoken of, yet in our hearts, we know that the other is The One

* 在人前从来不浪漫
Unromantic in front of others
在心中却总为对方打算
But always planning for our partner silently
最懂的人最暖的伴
The one who knows you best is the most heartwarming companion

就算我以后变罗嗦
Even if I became naggy in future
就算我老了有病痛
Even if I were wracked with old age illnesses and aches
我想你还是会照顾我到最后
I think you’d still take care of me till the end
隐藏最弱不眠不休
Hiding (my/your?) vulnerability (from the world) without rest

没有辛酸,没有遗憾
Without bitterness, without regrets
什么是陪伴,什么是心安
What’s companionship?  What is a restful heart?
你是答案
You’re the answer

认定 doesn’t quite have an English equivalent.  If you 认定 someone, you unequivocally believe that this person is the one.  “我认定他是个贼。” means that you believe that he’s a thief.  That said, it often pertains to knowing deep down that someone is The One.  Kinda like Booth and Brennan in Bones.  Or like what Spike feels about Buffy.

Comments and suggestions on better translations welcomed!

Leave a Reply

