Descendants of the Sun Fanfic 9: Dae-young & Myung-joo (Bouquet)

vlcsnap-2016-04-14-18h29m31s044_zpsidsrjniz

Clickbait Wannabe: What’s with Dae-young’s bouquet fixation?  

This fic is set in Ep 16 after the wedding dinner of Daniel and Ye-hwa, in an AU where there is no volcanic eruption. Disclaimer: I hold no rights to the characters, plot or anything else associated with Descendants of the Sun.


Myung-joo sighed inwardly at the strange glances from passersby. Most men would be embarrassed holding flowers, but Dae-young had held them the entire dinner. It was a wonder he’d actually eaten at all. In fact, he was still clutching the bouquet possessively when they broke from the group to take a walk. She didn’t know whether to be relieved or embarrassed his other hand was holding hers.

“Yoon Myung-joo, do you believe in signs?”

She was surprised by his question. He had been his usual taciturn self, and she had been jabbering on about this and that as was their custom, with him contributing nods and comments.

“Eh? As a doctor, signs and symptoms point to what an illness is, and if a patient was recovering. However, if you are talking about life, signs are merely coincidences that we ascribe meaning to. We see what we want to see.”

“Always knew my girlfriend was smart,” Dae-young smiled and lightly kissed the top of her head.

They had wandered to a park near the hotel, and the cold winter wind was nipping at her relentlessly.

“Do you prefer to have a son first, or a daughter?” Dae-young asked as he wrapped his scarf around her neck. (Singlehandedly. The bouquet was ensconced carefully in his other hand.)

The question took her aback. In the time they were dating, they’d only briefly discussed the matter of children, and that was in passing, way before her shotgun confession to General Yoon.

“Never really thought about it. Son first, I guess. A mini Seo Dae-young would be cute. Why?”

“I want a daughter who’s just like you. Smart, and brave, and pretty.”

Myung-joo blushed. They weren’t people who were flowery with their language like Shi-jin or Mo-yeon. This was too romantic. And suspicious. She had a feeling about what was coming up and looked at him expectantly.

Dae-young looked deep into her eyes with the most stoic expression.

“Wanna make a baby tonight?”

She narrowed her eyes, and automatically swung her bag to pummel him.

“Idiot!”

Dae-young let her get in a few harmless blows before running ahead with an impish smile.


She was catching her breath against a lamp post after having chased him halfway around the park. Damned heels were hard to run in.

He jogged back to her, still grinning, flowers STILL in his hand.

“Wait till I get you, you idiot…” She moved to have a go at him again.

He was quicker than her, planting a gentle kiss on her lips as he pulled her close for a hug.

“You win. No babies tonight.”

Damn this man. Has he got magic hugs or something? She melted into his embrace.


They sat companionably on a park bench in the bracing air, bodies warm after the brisk chase.

“Hey, Yoon Myung-joo.”

“Hmmm?”

“Take these flowers.”

“The cheek of this man. First time he gives me flowers, it’s a bunch he caught.”

“Yeah, but it’s a wedding bouquet.”

“Pffft.  Whatever you say.”

“You know, there’s this western belief… That the woman who catches the bridal bouquet will get married next.”

“Yeah, but I didn’t.” Myung-joo sniffed the flowers absently. She did like roses.

“Well, I did, and the bouquet is in your hands, so…”

Myung-joo looked up. Dae-young’s face was solemn as he spoke.

“I won’t always have flowers for you, but in my eyes, you’re the most beautiful flower of all. I don’t always know to say the right things, but know that you are always in my thoughts. I can’t give you the world, rank, or riches, but what I have is yours, and my heart, my body and my soul belong to you. I can’t give you an easy life, but I will stand by you, carry you when you are tired, and soothe you when you are upset. Your happiness is my happiness, and your grief, mine. I thank you for having been steadfast, and for waiting for this fool who had run away time and time again. Every moment with you, I feel so blessed that someone as wonderful as you are, has chosen me. There is no one else for me but you, and I want to spend the rest of our lives together, becoming a family together. You, who I love more than anyone else in the world, whose beatings and admonishments I know are an act of love, and who is the most amazing woman in the world, Yoon Myung-joo – will you marry me?”

“Yoon Myung-joo – will you marry me?”

Dae-young held out a ring box with a simple solitaire sitting prettily in it.

Myung-joo was stunned. As a soldier, she wanted to applaud him for a battle so well-planned, but as a woman, she was at a loss for words, something which had practically never happened before.

He looked at her so nervously and earnestly, that she gave him the only answer that came to mind.

She pulled him in for a proper kiss.


“This isn’t normally how proposals go,” Dae-young grumbled as Myung-joo admired the ring on her finger, “the couple kisses only AFTER the girl says yes.”

“Well, the only thing conventional about us is that you’re a man, and I’m a woman. Wait – how many women have you proposed to?”

“Oh, only a few to practise on… Just you, silly. I watch movies too, you know.”

She smiled, and gave him a light peck on the lips.

“I know. Why now?”

“I’d been thinking about proposing for a while, but it was so nice to date, and be ‘punished’ with all the weird stuff you thought up, I didn’t really want that to change. But I brought the ring here anyway, and when I caught the flowers, I thought maybe it really was time. And you’re right – we see what we want to see, and fate is in our hands. I’m glad my fate is now officially on your hand.”

Myung-joo smiled, and kissed him again.

“By the way, good job! Best proposal I’ve ever had!” Myung-joo’s eyes twinkled with mischief as she strode off with the bouquet.

“Of course. Hey, wait a minute. What do you mean you’ve ever had?”

This time, it was Dae-young doing the chasing as they sprinted back to the hotel.

Image from Unstoppable Sun.


Edit: Is it better without the crossed out parts? Thank you!

4 thoughts on “Descendants of the Sun Fanfic 9: Dae-young & Myung-joo (Bouquet)

  1. Pingback: Descendants of the Sun Fanfic List | Musings of an Ungrownup

Leave a Reply

